Grandma’s Sugar Cookies

My favorite memory from when I was a young kid was when everyone in the family would come over for a family Christmas party. I would search the desert table and look for a specific cookie my grandma would make. Now that she’s older, she doesn’t have time or the energy to make the things she used to, so she gave me the recipe to make myself.

While making the cookies, it brought me back to sitting in my grandma’s kitchen ‘helping’ her bake the cookies. I used to lick the spatula when she was done, and cut out the cookie shapes with her. The smell of the cookies baking made me feel so at home. I’m glad that I had  a chance to make these again, and hopefully I’ll get to make them again for her.

To spread the joy, I brought the cookies to school to share with my friends. I couldn’t wait to see what my friends though about it.  My friend J’Nay said “The icing was my favorite part about the cookie, it was super sweet and sugary!”

vookie

Ingredients (Cookie) :

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbs vinegar
  • 2 tsp ginger
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2-1/4 cups  flour

Ingredients (Frosting) :

  •  1/3 cup butter
  • 2 Tbs whole milk
  •  3 cups powdered sugar
  •  1-1/2 tsp vanilla

Instructions:

  1. Mix together butter, powdered sugar,  vinegar, and set aside. 
  2. In a separate bowl mix together, ginger, baking soda, salt, and flour.
  3. Combine all the ingredients into one bowl, mix until smooth
  4. Chill  dough at least 2 hours 
  5. Roll dough thin, 1/8 to 1/4  inch thick, (If mixture is too dry, add 1 Tbs milk to dough)
  6. Bake 6-8 minutes at 400
  7. To make frosting combine butter, milk, powdered sugar, and vanilla into one bowl and mix until smooth

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

